Official Languages

Note to readers

We are in the process of moving our services and information to Canada.ca.

The Public Service Commission's current website will remain available until the move to Canada.ca is complete.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) is committed to achieving a public service that embodies linguistic duality and is able to serve the public in their official language of choice.

The PSC provides expertise in policy development, application and interpretation with regard to official languages in the appointment process. The Commission helps ensure that persons participate in the process in the official language(s) of their choice and meet the official language proficiency requirements for the work to be performed, except when otherwise excluded. The PSC examines the use of the Public Service Official Languages Exclusion Approval Order and Public Service Official Languages Appointment Regulations, assists organizations in applying its terms and conditions, and reports the findings in its annual report to Parliament. The PSC also provides Second Language Evaluation for the assessment of proficiency in the second official language.

Legislation

  • Public Service Employment Act

    The preamble to the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) states that Canada will continue to gain from a public service that strives for excellence, that is representative of Canada's diversity and that is able to serve the public with integrity and in their official language of choice.

    The preamble goes on to state that the Government of Canada is committed to a public service that embodies linguistic duality.

    The PSEA maintains some of the current requirements concerning language in the appointment process, in particular, the following:
    • Section 20 of the PSEA outlines that, with the approval of the Governor in Council, the Commission may exclude a position, person or class of positions or persons from the application of the PSEA or any of its provisions (Public Service Official Languages Exclusion Approval Order (PSOLEAO));
    • Subsection 30(2)a outlines that an appointment is made on the basis of merit when the person appointed meets the essential qualifications for the position, including official language proficiency;
    • Subsection 37(1) outlines that an examination or an interview, when conducted for the purpose of assessing essential qualifications and additional qualifications considered to be an asset, other than language proficiency, shall be conducted in English or French or both at the option of the candidate, regardless of the linguistic requirements of the position or its location; and
    • Subsection 37(2) outlines that an examination or interview, when conducted for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of the candidate in the knowledge and use of English, or French, or both, or of a third language, shall be conducted in that language or those languages.
  • Related Links:
    The Public Service Official Languages Exclusion Approval Order
    Public Service Official Languages Appointment Regulations
  • Official Languages Act

    The Official Languages Act (OLA) ensures that French and English have equal status, rights and privileges in federal government institutions. The OLA defines the major principles of representativeness of the two official language communities. It contains provisions concerning the delivery of services (Part IV), the language of work (Part V), the full participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians (Part VI) and the advancement of French and English (Part VII). The OLA also stresses that the application of official language requirements to positions must be objective (section 91).

Policies and guidelines

Outreach

Outreach activities to encourage Official Languages Minority Community members and students to apply to Federal Public Service jobs.

Langues officielles

Note aux lecteurs

Nous procédons actuellement au transfert de nos services et de nos renseignements vers Canada.ca.

Le site Web actuel de la Commission de la fonction publique restera accessible jusqu'à ce que le transfert vers Canada.ca soit terminé.

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) s’est engagée à établir une fonction publique qui incarne la dualité linguistique et qui est capable de servir la population dans la langue officielle de son choix.

La CFP offre une expertise en matière d’élaboration, d’application et d’interprétation relativement aux langues officielles dans le processus de nomination. La Commission contribue à veiller à ce que les personnes participent aux processus dans la langue officielle de leur choix et à ce qu’elles possèdent les compétences linguistiques requises pour le travail à accomplir, sauf si elles en sont exclues. La CFP examine l’utilisation du Décret d’exemption concernant les langues officielles dans la fonction publique et le Règlement sur les langues officielles – nominations dans la fonction publique, assiste les organisations dans leur application et fait état de leur utilisation dans son rapport annuel au Parlement. La CFP offre également l’évaluation de la compétence dans la seconde langue officielle.

Léglislation

  • Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique

    Selon le préambule de la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP), il demeure avantageux pour le Canada de pouvoir compter sur une fonction publique vouée à l’excellence, représentative de la diversité canadienne et capable de servir la population avec intégrité et dans la langue officielle de son choix.

    Il est également énoncé dans le préambule que le gouvernement du Canada souscrit au principe d’une fonction publique qui incarne la dualité linguistique.

    La LEFP respecte certaines des exigences linguistiques actuelles liées au processus de nomination, notamment les suivantes :
    • En vertu de l’article 20 de la LEFP, avec l’agrément du gouverneur en conseil, la Commission peut exempter un poste, une personne ou une catégorie de postes ou de personnes de l’application de la LEFP ou de certaines de ses dispositions (Décret d’exemption concernant les langues officielles dans la fonction publique);
    • Le paragraphe 30 (2) précise qu’une nomination est fondée sur le mérite lorsque la personne à nommer possède les qualifications essentielles établies pour le poste, y compris la compétence dans les langues officielles;
    • Selon le paragraphe 37 (1), les examens ou entrevues, lorsqu’ils ont pour objet d’évaluer les qualifications essentielles et les qualifications constituant un atout, à l’exception de la langue, se tiennent en français ou en anglais, ou dans les deux langues, au choix du candidat, peu importe l’emplacement du poste ou les exigences du poste en matière de compétence dans les langues officielles;
    • Le paragraphe 37 (2) précise que si les examens ou entrevues ont pour objet d’apprécier dans quelle mesure le candidat connaît et utilise soit le français soit l’anglais, les deux langues ou une troisième langue, ils se tiennent dans la ou les langues concernées.
  • Loi sur les langues officielles

    La Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) veille à ce que le français et l’anglais disposent d’un statut, de droits et de privilèges égaux dans les institutions fédérales. La LLO définit les grands principes de la représentation des deux collectivités de langues officielles. Elle contient certaines dispositions sur la prestation des services (partie IV), la langue de travail (partie V), la pleine participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise (partie VI), et la promotion du français et de l’anglais (partie VII). La LLO stipule également que l’application des exigences relatives aux langues officielles doit être objective (article 91).

Politiques et guides

Sensibilisation

Activités de sensibilisation visant à encourager les étudiants et les membres des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire à postuler des emplois dans la fonction publique fédérale.